Warning: Discretion Advised

When I was growing up, my parents always used to warn me about the movies I wanted to see. When I’d get invites to go to the movies with friends, honestly, sometimes I didn’t even think to ask what the movie was. The only thing on my mind was hanging with my friends – the movie was secondary. But of course, as I went to ask my parent’s permission, they would always expect to know exactly what movie we were planning on seeing, what I knew about it… and where they could read a thorough review. Though this often drove me crazy and sometimes meant that I wouldn’t get to go… they made sure that I learned a few lessons. 

1. Don’t be mindless and not know what you’re about to be doing/watching.
2. Don’t assume your friends are making a wise suggestion…
3. Be discerning.

When my parents eventually turned over the “key” to my movie watching decisions, I found “being discerning” could sometimes be difficult. Whose standards should I base my decision on? My friends said it was ok… so it should be, right? My parents probably wouldn’t like it… but they are really strict. I’m sure I can handle it, I reasoned.

We can “reason” our way out of anything. As long as we turn our conscience off first.

Right now, you and I are in a battle that requires incredible discernment. This battle is with way more than just movies… rather, what we believe, what we support, what we give our lives to. Each one of those areas in our lives have been attacked, and without even realizing it, we may have had the truth stolen right out from underneath us. What are you standing on? Why do you believe what you believe? How have you determined truth?

There are many things that appear one way, and are another. We all love the saying, “Don’t judge a book by it’s cover”… but how many people actually like to dig deeper when the cover looks great and is extremely popular?

I feel a deep burden to remind us all to be discerning in these times in which we live. We are bombarded daily by so many voices and messages – we can’t be lazy and neglect to sort and discern each one. If something blows up and becomes crazy popular – don’t take it at face value. Research it. Pray about it. Seek to really understand and determine God’s position on it. Don’t blindly follow something without knowing exactly where it’s leading you (and others).

I want to leave you with some verses to dig into and meditate on. I encourage you to ask God to reveal if there is anything that you have mistaken for truth or have not dug deep enough into. Pray that He would give you wisdom and discernment, and that you would clearly see everything with His eyes and heart. I am doing the same. :)

“I am sending you out like sheep among wolves. Therefore be as shrewd as snakes and as innocent as doves.” Matthew 10:16

“See to it that no one takes you captive through hollow and deceptive philosophy, which depends on human tradition and the basic principles of this world rather than on Christ.” Colossians 2:8

“Test everything. Hold on to the good. Avoid every kind of evil.” 2 Thessalonians 5:21-22  

*Do you have a story of God revealing an area in your life where you hadn’t been discerning? How did He reveal that to you? And what did He call you to do differently? I’d love for you to share your story below.

4 responses to “Warning: Discretion Advised

  1. I always try and view politics this way, in the sense that people just vote based on the mass popular opinion, rather than getting to know a candidate and really do research themselves. Also I see a lot of Churches all into this, and I won’t point out any specific, but the verse you pointed out in Col is a perfect example. I agree, educate yourself and TEST everything against God’s Word.

    God Bless,
    Andrew

  2. I have had at least one person, I think it may have been a few people, tell me that they sensed a fear in me that I may not have even recognized was there, or maybe I knew it was there but hadn’t identified it as fear. So, I asked God to reveal to me what this fear was. As the Bible tells us, God answered me when I asked. That fear was a fear of not being able to relate what God wanted me to to the people that He wanted me to relate those messages to, with the main reason being lack of time.
    A little bit of backstory, I have recently started evangelizing (talking with people in love and sharing Jesus with them) more than in the past. I realized that small, but I hadn’t really thought of it as fear before. I knew that I felt like I needed more time in order to talk with people, but find that when God tells me to talk with someone, He will provide enough (sometimes barely enough) time to talk to the person. The fear that I had of not having enough time to talk with people was a lie from the enemy. Once God helped me to realize that it was fear, it helped me to overcome the fear because I know that God hasn’t given us a spirit of fear, but a spirit of power, love and a sound mind (2 Timothy 1:7). That spirit of power, love and a sound mind is the Holy Spirit living in us to empower and enable us to do what we wouldn’t be able to do on our own.
    In short, God revealed to others that I had a fear that I didn’t recognize. I asked God about it and He revealed to me that it was a fear of talking with people. God has enabled me to overcome this fear and rely completely on Him. I don’t have to worry about what to say or if I will have enough time to say it. As long as I follow Him every step of the way, it will all work out perfectly.

  3. Thank you so much Paige for posting this. My parents are extremely strict as well, on a lot of issues, including this one! I used to get very, very upset when they refused to allow me to go out with my friends, but you have put me at ease on this one!
    I was compromising my values and yielding to the pull of my flesh in an area of my life, I wasn’t being discerning but reasoned out, however, God spoke very clearly through a vision my friend had, to avoid compromises! I am grateful for it as I know it is an area I need to look out on and be on my guard, however, I am obviously struggling. It is wonderful though, that God speaks to us and warns us in many ways, this reassures us that He who warns us, will also lead, guide and help us through it all. Thank you again :)

Leave a Reply

