How old are you… really?

Sometimes the emphasis on age bothers me. In life, it seems like I can never be the “right” number. Either I’m too young for this, too old for that.

Too young to ride on the big kid roller coaster, too old to get free handouts.

Come to think of it, the only time I can remember hearing the term “old enough” was in the phrase… “You’re old enough to know better!” ha. That was never a good one to hear…

I came across this question a little while ago that asks, “How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you were?”

Weird. But I LOVE that.

Honestly, sometimes I feel like I’m 80. After I had my knee replacement in 2006, I had to get physical therapy to get back on my feet again. When I would go, I was BY FAR the youngest person there. All the old ladies would ask me what had happened that I needed therapy. After telling them I had a knee replacement, they looked at me with ridiculously perplexed eyes saying,”But hunny… that’s what I just had! How old are you anyway?!?!” To that I just smiled and said, “Oh, I just look reallyy good for my age.” 😉

On the flip side, I can’t believe I’m 19. When I was younger I expected to have so much more figured out by this age… I thought it was sooo “old”. Ha! My how your perspective changes.

Frankly, I’d rather just not have an age. I’d rather not be defined by something, categorized or put in a box by some number that is supposed to determine my place in life. I’d rather just be.

What about you?

Romans 12:2 “Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is- His good, pleasing and perfect will.”

3 responses to “How old are you… really?

  1. “My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge…” Hosea 4:6
    If we don’t read the Bible, then we wouldn’t know all these plans God has for us. Jesus said in John 17:14 “I have given them thy word; and the world hath hated them, because they are not of the world, even as I am not of the world.” We have been given the word of God because we are not of the world and God wants us to know where we stand with Him. Luke 10:19 states that we have power over all the powers of the “enemy.” Death is a power of satan. Aging is the process of dying. By what the Bible says, if we take authority over satan, we don’t have to age with the rest of the world. And no matter what your “age,” you can do whatever you set your mind to, as long as it lines up with scripture. “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13

  2. This one hit me hard because lately I’ve been freaking out about turning 26 soon. It’s important to me to get my bachelor’s and master’s degree and I hate the fact that I’m 26 and still about a year away from a bachelor’s degree. It is really hard when the world defines you by your age. I’m always afraid that I am too old when it comes to what I want to do with my life. Lately I find myself saying, “Man I wish I could be 16, 18 again and start over.” I just never pictured myself here at this age because it is not where I wanted to be and it’s tough trying to figure out where God wants me to be.

Leave a Reply

