Noise, Elves & Hideouts.

Phew! These last few weeks have been a whirlwind. I feel like I stepped into some sort of time warp since this tour started. I rarely know what day it is. Don’t even ask me what date. All I know is that I am home right now for 2 1/2 more days and then back out on the road to finish up the last leg of our tour.

This last run was really a tough one for me. I got sick towards the end of the last 2 week one, came home for a day… got worse… and then went back out for this past weekend of shows. Needless to say, I was not only a coughing, nose blowing, dizzy, sick machine, but I was emotionally and mentally shot too. On the road, there really is no such thing as “personal space”. Traveling in a bus and van, all of us have definitely become family as we eat, sleep and breathe each other for days/weeks, straight.  Fortunately, God has brought together an amazing group of people for this tour that truly love each other and the time we are privileged to spend together.

However… as much of a people person as I am, I totally need my space. I am energized and encouraged by people, but renewed and focused by my time alone. It’s essential to me. My time alone with God when I can read, write down my thoughts & pray is the only thing that allows me to face the day in a positive, balanced way. When I’d miss that… boy, I’d really feel it that day. The scattered, empty and easily flustered feeling that I’d get from missing my quiet time really made me push to make time and create an alone space even when there was none.

One day, when we were at the Maybee Center in Tulsa, I found a perfect little spot to myself in the girl’s dressing room. When you entered the room, there was a counter to the left and a little open space underneath by the window. It became my hideout! I nestled my bags in there and crawled under with my favorite devotional and Bible. Ahh. It was perfect. Until, that is, I scared Olivia from the Rubyz who only saw my foot peeking out when she walked by. Soon enough, my “hideout” was discovered by more and I was there nicknamed, “The Elf in the Corner”. (You really can’t get away with anything on tour)

All of our lives are filled with something called, “noise”. We have people around us, circumstances of work, school and families constantly running our lives and saturating what we hear, see and do. Not to mention the other distractions of TV, internet and cell phones. While some of that noise we can’t turn off, a lot of it… we can. And for the things that we can, it’s a matter of choosing between what is actually beneficial to hear, and what’s not.

There are things that I have to do (like get away) and “turn off” in order to tune out the world and into God. When I do that, I find that my perspective shifts completely off of the problems that plagued me earlier and into a renewed understanding of my purpose for that day. When I spend time with the Lord… He redeems it, and leaves me refreshed, restored and focused.

Is there any noise in your life that maybe needs to be turned off? Run to your hiding place to be renewed and restored. His voice is begging to be heard above the noise.

“You are my hiding place; You will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance.” Psalm 32:7

2 responses to “Noise, Elves & Hideouts.

  1. Pingback: what kid didn’t wish they had a treehouse… « dear heARTists…

Leave a Reply

