HELP! I have 20 days left of being a teenager.

Today is May 19th… and I now have only 20 days left of being a teenager! I turn 20 years old on June 9th, 2010.

This realization has sparked quite an array of responses. While a part of me feels as though I’m still only a little girl, another part of me screams that I haven’t felt like a teenager in a very long time. People call me an “old soul” and usually, I certainly feel like one.

Every year that I grow older, I seem to put a weight and responsibility on whatever new age I’m turning. I find myself determined to raise the bar and rise to the new responsibility that is before me.  I remember the first time I was able to be called a “teen” in a news article… I just about BEAMED with pride! Something about being called “teen” felt sophisticated, dangerous… exciting! (yeah, I was kind of a dork…)

Turning 20, however, feels like a whole other playing field when it comes to a new phase in life. Something about saying “I’m in my 20’s” rings out a new challenge… a new meaning. It floods me with questions like, “What IS expected of a 20 year old?”

So far, I’ve already got the anti-wrinkle cream, and am working to refine my homemaking skills. haha! 😉 I’ve seriously been on a kick lately about learning how to cook like my mom (she’s an unofficial chef!), fold clothes perfectly, iron, sew and master other skills of the sort. Not sure why I’m on this tangent, but apparently, those are a few expectations I have for myself as I turn 20!

Really… my question for you right now is, how do I spend my last 20 days as a teen? Is there anything that can only be done now, or is best done as an official teenager? A part of me feels like I need to go sky diving or something crazy… but then again, that just sounds like something I would do before I die! Soo, we’ll save that for later.

Seriously… I have 20 days left of being a teenager. How should I spend them? The floor is open and I want your thoughts! It can be funny, serious… all of the above! I’ll be sure to give a thorough update on the ideas of yours that I choose to do!

8 responses to “HELP! I have 20 days left of being a teenager.

  1. ok paige if your not gonna go skydiving do something wild and crazy… that is my faorite thing to do… or maybe just do something u haven’t ever done before because your too scared… love ya and God bless!
    ❤ Lola

  2. anything you are wanting to do… start… create… do it while you are a teen. you will have more access to mentors and more impact as a “newsstory” if you are a teenager when you started it. i have written about and for teens for years and one of the things i always notice is that teens have access other people just dont have. if you do something new and people hear “a teenager did that”… it gets alot more press than a “twenty-something”… so… if there is something you’ve been thinking about starting… the time is now. (of course you are already do many of these types of things…. but since you asked, i thought i would share) love you… you excellent woman/girl

  3. I turn 17 on friday May 21. Not quite as old as you, lol, but still feeling a year older. One thing that you could do is write a song that has something in it about leaving behind the teen years and starting a new part of your life. It could really be an interesting song that could go along with your other antiapathy songs. I am in our high school’s theatre group, and this has just inspired me to write a play similar to this right before I turn 20.

    I think that it would be awesome to write a song or play, depending on intrest, just to mark this memorable time in one’s life.

  4. Oh congrats!!! that’s good and bad news lol i think u should probably have as much fun as possible!!! do something u have always wanted to do and probably take as many pictures as possible to remember ur last 20 days as a teenager haha but anyways hope it all goes well for u we will be praying for you!!

    -Mel

    P.S U can always jump of an airplane of climb mount everest;)

  5. Hey Paige, first I have to say that you and I are alike when it comes to folding clothes perfect. I have to get them PERFECT! No creases or anything like that, my friends make fun of me for it because it takes me forever to fold my clothes. I’m in the same boat as you, I’m turning 20 on July 30, my best bud actually turned 20 today. It feels odd, I keep joking that I won’t be “cool” anymore once I’m not a teen anymore. Some ways I half way think it’s true, as people get older they seem to become more dull the majority of the time and I don’t want to become dull. I help lead the youth and children’s ministries at my church and I want to stay energetic and crazy for them! Since I’m turning 20 soon as well things that come to mind for me is sky diving like you said but I don’t have the money for that so I guess that’s out, I also think of playing some good pranks on friends(I’m all about some pranks). I’m really wanting to make someone’s car an icop(internation car of pancakes), just load it up with syrup, pancakes, whipped cream and all that good stuff. Then I think, we may not even turn 20 though. Tomorrow’s definitely not guaranteed, either death and getting to go to heaven or much better not even having to suffer death to get to heaven. Jesus is coming back at anytime. “But concerning that day and hour no one knows, not even the angels of heaven, nor the Son, but the Father only. As were the days of Noah, so will be the coming of the Son of Man. For as in those days before the flood they were eating and drinking, marrying, and giving in marriage, until the day when Noah entered the ark, and they were unaware until the flood came and swept them all away, so will be the coming of the Son of Man. Then two men will be in the field; one will be taken and one left. Two women will be grinding at the mill; one will be taken and one left. Therefore, stay awake, for you do not know on what day your Lord is coming. But know this, that if the master of the house had known in what part of the night the thief was coming, he would have stayed awake and would not have let his house be broken into. Therefore you also must be ready, for the Son of Man is coming at an hour you do not expect.” – Matthew 24:36-44 In reading that it feels as if I’m on a mission now, to stay awake to glorify God in all I do so that when He comes I will be ready, could be tomorrow, next week, next month, next year, 10 years, 100 years, 1000 years, but He’s coming soon and unexpectedly. So as for the rest of your days as a teen and even the rest of your life, I would say to do as 1 Corinthians 10:31 says, “So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.” Hope you’ve been encouraged and thanks for being so awesome and living for Christ. People really look up to you and I’m glad you’re setting a great example. I go to the River of Life and you and the rest of iShine were there and the kids really got a lot from it. It’s great what you’re doing, keep living for Jesus!

  6. Have you waled through a drive through yet? Welcomed the person at the drive though screen box, and asked them what it was they wanted from Mcdonals? Or spray painted your drive way? Run down your street in the middle of the night? danced aroung when everyone is watching (being on stage doesnt count)? Crashed your bike into a tree? ran into a tree?

  7. It’d be cool to go through all your old pics & make a music video to the tune of your favorite song(s). Start with the photos from when you were a little tot then go up from there all the way til your 20th birthday! Kinda like documenting your first 20 years. 🙂 Maybe mix in a few of your favorite bible verses or sayings in there. Idk…i thought it was a cool idea!

    I’m turning 19 this summer. You’ve really made me think about how i’m spending my time and how i’m reaching out to others. I just wanted to say… You’re such a blessing to so many ppls, myself included. Thank you for being such an amazing role model for me, my younger sisters, and all the other young women out there. Jesus radiates from your very being..& i thank God for you! Love you Paige & God bless!

Leave a Reply

