The Thousand Roads

Right now, many of us are at a crossroad. We could stay straight, turn left or right, go to the side or up or down. Some of you may be about to graduate from High School. Others might have lost their job. Perhaps some are leading an unhealthy lifestyle… and know it needs to change. 

Wherever you are at your crossroad, there’s a lot of paths that you could take from here. So how do you begin to choose which way you go?

The other day, I sat down with a pen and paper and literally began to write down every direction that I could imagine myself going in right now. When I had scribbled out all the options I could think of, I have to admit, I was pretty overwhelmed.

When I sat there with a thousand different roads seemingly before me, my thoughts initially felt as jumbled as my crowded piece of paper. I can see why some people just choose to escape and “check out” when it comes to major life decisions rather than really digging in to think things through. Could that be what some of us have done?

I see it all the time. Instead of really buckling down and facing some of the choices that are set before us, we choose escape. We welcome the fact that the world doesn’t encourage making hard decisions and really getting serious about things. We think, “If I can coast my way through, that’s good enough for me…”

But is it? At some point, we all choose a direction. Whether consciously or not.

On the piece of paper with my many scribbled out “path options”, were two in particular that stuck out to me the most – all the other choices seemed to pale in comparison. If anything, they seemed to point to those two main things that I apparently really care about doing. (might I just add that those 2 things were the biggest, craziest things on my list??)

Suddenly, what had seemed like a mass confusion of overwhelming choices became narrowed down to a handful. When I really stopped for a second to think about these big, hard, life things… I realized that maybe there weren’t a thousand paths after all. Maybe I was actually made for one.

Maybe the purpose that was inside me was reaching for the things on that list that had the most to do with my passion… perhaps a passion that I hadn’t even fully discovered yet. But regardless, I seemed to know which 2 things on the list to pick… though they were the craziest, most improbable ones.

>> ACTION CHALLENGE << If you feel you are at a crossroad in your life with many paths set before you, take a minute to write down all the paths you’d consider taking right now. ie: Career, School, Relationships, Living locations. Include the “crazy dream” paths, as well as the seemingly logical/practical paths. After you have it written down, read it over and see what sticks out to you. What could you take or leave? What do you keep coming back to? Circle the things that seem to jump out to your heart the most. Those are the things that are most likely not options to ignore. This means you are meant to do them… they are part of your path.

“Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.” Matthew 7:13-14

*If you do this action challenge, I’d love to hear what you found if you care to share!

4 responses to “The Thousand Roads

  1. Hi, Paige. This post was a rather really good one. I will take the challenge. I really need it so I can be sure to make the right decisions about my future. 🙂

  2. I haven’t actually written anything out like that; but, reading this post reminded me of this past February. I had mentally written all my possibilities down. I thought about what I wanted to do and why I liked certain things. The main reason for me was to decide my major and minor. At the time I was only a junior in High School, but I knew that I had to figure this out sooner or later. Back in January and February of this year, I was thinking about the possibilities of going into Math, Science, Government, Psychology, Music, Youth Ministry, Theatre, Film, etc. During this process, I realized that the reason why I liked Math was that it creates a challenge. Same with Science and a few others. The ones that really stuck were writing, acting, and youth ministry.

    From that process, I have decided on the Drama/Television/Film Performance Major at Oral Roberts University with a minor in Youth Ministry. I may, from there, get my master’s degree in either Film Writing or Film Directing. I have many options available in the Christian Film Industry. I feel like that is the main thing God has planned for my life, with youth ministry on the side.

    I love sharing this calling with people. Some people tell me to go for it, but others tell me that I am thinking unrealistically. I know, though, that it is possible and that God places desires in our hearts to guide us through life. “Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart.” -Psalm 37:4 God puts desires in our hearts if we would trust completely in Him.

  3. This is great! Reminds me of part of a small group book I’ve been doing (The Mind of Christ), only in it, I listed all my desires and was shocked to see how disordered my mind can be. I’m going to need to be thinking on the challenge, especially in the area of college/career planning.

Leave a Reply

