The Start of A New Year

Everyone loves a new beginning. Just like the phrase, “out with the old, in with the new”, it’s a chance to put past things behind us and start fresh.

The New Year always brings a string of resolutions and reflections, and I’ve usually been the type of person to make a whole list of personal ideals for the upcoming year. If you saw my blog post last year at this time, you’ll see what I mean. 😉

This year, however, I didn’t make a 10 ft scroll of promises, but I focused in on something that I found even more beneficial. With my notebook and pen in hand, I wrote out 3 bad things that happened to me in 2010, and 3 good things. I then listed some things that I was looking forward to potentially happening this year, and a few key things that I’d love for the Lord to strengthen me in.

What was fascinating to me was with these things clearly laid out before me I was able to see a direct correlation between the struggles of my year in 2010, and the blessings. Each one of my three negatives were then followed by either a fulfillment of the need or loss, or an answer that I had been searching for… and those were the three highlights of my year. I didn’t notice this direct connection until after it was written and staring me in the face. The “aha” moment was astounding, and left me dumbfounded at the Lord’s in-genus provision!

This beautiful discovery of God’s hand in my 2010, gave me a platform to see the new 2011 from. It’s like peeking back in a book at the chapter you left off in and refreshing yourself on what it said. Suddenly it gives context to the next chapter that you’re about to embark on. When you know where you came from, you can know where to begin.

As I sat and stared at the new number, 2-0-1-1, I felt the need to dedicate myself and the year to the Lord. I gave Him my dreams for the year and the things that I’m most excited and hopeful about – giving Him permission to do as He sees fit and knowing full well that may not look like what I had envisioned. I dedicated my heart, my time and my relationships. This new year is more about dedication for me than it is about my resolutions. I found so much peace and excitement in putting this year in God’s hands rather than clinging to the list in my own.

Action Challenge: I challenge you, if you haven’t already, to seriously dedicate this 2011 year of your life to Him. Share with Him your dreams, your hopes, your needs, and lay them at His feet where they belong. If there are things in your life that you know you need to turn from, make this the year that you start anew. When we submit ourself to the author of our lives, we will never be disappointed by the story He writes.

2 responses to “The Start of A New Year

  1. Okay. I havent been a fan for a while, only because I just heard of you a few months ago. Me and my mom were listening to Focus On The Family on 94.5, and we heard your interview. After the interview, they played your song. I LOVED it! My mom called me from down stairs to turn the volume up on our speakers. I love Demi Lovato, and when I heard your music/voice, it reminded me of her kind of music, just christian lyrics. I am doing a singing competition in Wilmington,DE soon, and I wanted TO SING A ROCKIN’ SONG.I was going to sing a Demi Lovato song, then I thought of you. Today actually, on the way back from church. I am planning on singing one of your songs, to rock out & praise God while doing it! Oh, I love your shoes on your home page!!!

    Thanks A Lot,
    Macie

  2. thank you Paige for this encouraging and very true blog!! 😀 i appreciate your ministry so much!! keep giving God the glory for your life!! God Bless

Leave a Reply

