My Sleepless Night: Are Our Blessings Traveling In Disguise?

Last night, I told the Lord that I missed Him. I hadn’t gotten to spend as much time with Him the past few days as I would have liked, and I wanted that time to draw near to Him again. I asked Him to bring me back into close communion and to give me special quiet time with Him.

It was late in the evening and I was trying to get some work done, but my brain was shutting down and my eyes were drooping, so I decided to call it a night and head to  bed. Fortunately, I usually don’t have trouble falling asleep or even staying asleep for that matter, so I drifted off to dreamland rather quickly.

At 4:20am, I was woken up by terrible pain in my stomach and a feeling of sickness that made my whole body miserable. I laid
there for a while in hopes that it would just go away, but it only got worse as the minutes went on. I decided to pull myself out of bed and see if I had any medicine or vitamins that would relieve my pain and help me feel better. I took what I found and hoped it would work quickly.

Minutes slowly turned into hours. I was too uncomfortable to read, or even distract myself on the computer, so all I could do was lay there. I began to pray… what started as praying for God to take away my pain turned into prayers about everything. There has been much going on in my life lately that I’ve needed to pray about – prayers for people close to me who are in need, prayers for my own wisdom and guidance, prayers of thanksgiving and reflection. For the first time in a while, I had time to really be alone with my thoughts and the Lord. It wasn’t rushed trying to wrap up my morning devotion to start my day, and it wasn’t cut short by my tiredness at the end of the night when I’m about to fall asleep. It was unhindered time.. it was exactly what I asked for… but certainly not in the way I intended.

Sometimes blessings are the same way. We ask for something good – and then, much to our confusion, something uncomfortable, even terrible happens. What happened to the blessing that we asked for? Doesn’t God want to bless us?
He does… and He did. His ways are not our ways, and He desires to open our eyes to be able to see the answer to our prayers that He has often already given us.

How ironic that when I told God I missed Him and wanted more time with Him – He gave it to me by waking me up in the night with a stomach ache. Perhaps that sounds a little less than desirable… and well, it certainly wasn’t how I had envisioned it. But the truth is, it was exactly what I needed.

In fact, I still haven’t even gone back to sleep yet… I’m writing this and the sun has already risen. But this time was really precious to me, and my day, my week will be different because of it. My stomach ache was my blessing.

Is there a blessing in your life God is trying to give you that you may be missing? Look closely… it just may be in a clever disguise.

5 responses to “My Sleepless Night: Are Our Blessings Traveling In Disguise?

  1. Pingback: My Sleepless Night: Are Our Blessings Traveling In Disguise? (via Wake Up, Generation) « Courtneysmithmusic's Blog

  2. I… really don’t think God was the one who gave you a stomachache.

    I personally believe Satan gave it to you instead because he knew that God was going to get close to you. Satan knows how God is, and he knows that God isn’t One to not answer a prayer.

    Satan gave you the stomachache, not only that you can feel pain, but to distract you. He doesn’t want you going near God. He knows that if you get closer to God, you’re going to find more secrets that he doesn’t want you to know.

    However, instead of just lying there in pain, yielding to it all morning and (possibly) all day long, you decided you were going to pray. You prayed concerning the pain and it was gone. Next thing you know, you’re praying for more things.

    For this moment, I’m going to leave a small nugget of wisdom to you.

    Pray generally and you get general answers. Pray specifically and you get specific answers.

    • Exactly my thoughts as I read this. God doesn’t give us pain. He gives us healing and life. Satan is the one that uses destruction. Satan is the one that came to “steal and kill and destroy” and Christ came so that we could “have life, and have it to the full” (John 10:10). But, God uses what Satan plans for evil to bring about ways for His name to be praised. God can turn around wait Satan planned for evil and turn it into good. If God started giving us judgement and bad things under this New Covenant, then He would be breaking His covenant that He cut with us through Jesus Christ. God is Good!
      An example that my family has recently experienced with this is the tornado in Joplin, Missouri. My mom’s cousin was in the St. John’s hospital there when the tornado hit. She had signed her DNR, but the doctor wouldn’t honor it. I had prayed not to long before May 22 that either God would enable the doctor to be able to heal her from the point she was now, or that He would allow something to happen that would take it out of the doctors hands. I didn’t pray that God would send something, but that He would allow something to happen. God allowed Satan to send that tornado through Joplin. Through the tornado, my mom’s cousin’s DNR was finally honored. There were also many other blessings that came with that tornado. Yet, Satan still got his satisfaction of causing destruction and killing.
      The reason why I know that God didn’t send the tornado Himself, besides scripture, is because within the next few days, as tornadoes were heading towards other areas that contained family and friends, including another tornado heading to Joplin, I prayed that God would cause those tornadoes to dissipate so that no one else would be hurt by the storms. Each of the tornadoes I prayed that over did dissipate before reaching the location that they seemed to be heading. Through the power of the blood covenant of Christ and God, we have so much more power than we use today in America. We have the exact same power that Christ had while He was on Earth: calming the storms, healing the sick, raising the dead!

  3. It is so true! I’m in eighth grade, and back in March was my last spelling bee-ever! When i misspelled, I was so upset! People told me that I had the right to be upset with God, but to still be open to Him. I couldn’t be upset with Him! I do believe that there was a reason for what happened, but I still don’t know what.

Leave a Reply

